Continental Assembly

The Continental Assembly is the highest decision-making body of the Kolping Society of Europe. It meets once a year and has the task to determine key contents of work, to elect the board, to fix membership fees and to decide on programme and constitution.

The Continental Assembly is composed of representatives of the European National Associations which may, depending on the election of members, send 2 to 5 delegates to the Continental Assembly. Apart from that, the respective General Praeses and the General Secretary of the International Kolping Society belong to the Continental Assembly as well as the delegate of the Kolping Society at the Council of Europe and the European Union.

Continental meeting 2014 in Brasov / Romania

The focus of the Continental Assembly, which took place in May in Brasov, Romania, was international communication and the study of the Association’s development process KOLPING 2017.  Elections for the Executive Board were also on the agenda.  On May 9, the delegates from 20 countries of Kolping Europe elected the German National Praeses, Fr. Josef Holtkotte, as the new European Praeses.  He assumes this work on a voluntary basis in addition to his job as the National Praeses of Kolping Germany.  The strengthening of the European National Kolping Societies and new starts in European countries are of particular concern for Fr. Holtkotte.  In addition, Krzysztof Wolski from Poland was elected as the European Secretary.  The President of Kolping Europe is Margrit Unternährer from Switzerland.

The following National Kolping Societies belong to Kolping Europe: Albania, Germany, Italy, Kosovo, Croatia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Moldova, the Netherlands, Austria, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Switzerland, Serbia, Slovakia, Slovenia, the Czech Republic, the Ukraine, and Hungary.